First attempt at ombre nails

Fall has arrived, and the multitude of darker nail polishes have arrived as well. I’m having a hard time letting my bright summery colors go, so I decided I needed at least one last bright and happy manicure. Pittsburgh has a long winter/ cold season, so I figure I have plenty of time for darker fall colors.

The ombre manicure has always been something I’ve wanted to try, but I’ve been intimidated. I watched a bunch of videos and looked at tutorials, and picked my favorite summery color to work with.

First, I painted my nails with 2 coats of Color Club Blue-ming (an amazing mint green that I love on its own). Then I chose an array of colors that would transition to a vivid purple. In retrospect, I think I used too many colors but it ended up alright anyways.

Image

Above is the makeup sponge I used to make the ombre effect. From bottom to top (aka lightest color to darkest), I used the following polishes: Color Club Blue-ming, Essie Naughty Nautical, Revlon Coastal Surf, and Zoya Charisma. I topped it all with my OPI I Juggle… Men subtle glitter topcoat and voila – an ombre manicure!

Image

Image

There are definitely things I’d like to improve for the next time (use fewer colors, improve the sponging technique, etc), but overall I’m happy with the outcome. And it’s still bright, happy, and clinging to the vestiges of summer!

13 thoughts on “First attempt at ombre nails

  1. Pingback: Ombre Manicure | brenna is...

  2. Sandra Lewrey

    These are great, first attempt or 20th! It takes a smidge more time, but I actually find it easier to sponge on each of the colours individually. If I try to paint them onto the sponge itself, it never, ever works out – everything’s all sideways and suddenly I’ve got nail polish all over my arms…!

    Reply
    1. doctorcrafty Post author

      Thanks! I’ll have to try sponging it on one at a time. I find that I’ll spare myself the arm paint if I dab the sponge on a paper towel to get rid of some excess polish before sponging it on my nails. 🙂

      Reply
  3. CoCo

    I’ve recently been trying ombre nails as well… and I’ve been struggling! I’m definitely going to try the sponge technique you used with panting the layers like that, & the glitter top coat? Perfect!

    Reply
    1. doctorcrafty Post author

      Yeah, the painting of the layers on the sponge helps blend it before you even put it on your nails. And of course glitter makes everything better 😉 Hope this technique helps you out!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

