Flakies Galore!

I love, love, love the flaky topcoat effect. I especially like it mattified over a dark base color. I bought China Glaze’s Luxe and Lush and was super excited to try it out. I layered it over a dark grey polish and then used a matte top coat. It was absolutely awful. The “flakes” were more like shards of glass that just would not lay flat, the formula was thick and hard to apply, and it just wasn’t as pretty as I imagined. Anyways, I don’t have a picture of that awful attempt because I couldn’t stand to have it on my nails for very long!

Second attempt – I purchased Zoya Opal, which is exactly what I wanted! Smaller, thinner flakes that lay flat, look amazing, and are really easy to apply. Opal is a clear with slight greenish tinge and small blue-green opalescent flakes. It applies so easily, no need to dab your nails or even go back with a second coat. Love this polish!

Image

Some of the pictures didn’t capture the amazing shimmery goodness that is Zoya Opal, but I’m in love πŸ™‚ My base color is a Sephora Color Hit polish. It doesn’t have a name on it – the only identifying part of this is a small sticker on the back with L61. It’s a dark teal/ blue polish that I really enjoy for the most part. It is deeply pigmented (so it covers nicely in one coat) but it stains very easily. So the skin around my nails where I had a few “oopsies” is a little discolored even after my first go at cleaning.

IMG_1903

Here’s a bigger version so you can see the flakies even better. Overall, I love this manicure… it looks like a shimmering moonlit pool!

I also have to mention my amazing polish that I used for my pedicure. I won’t subject you to pictures of my feet because who really wants to look at my feet? I barely want to see them unless there’s a cute pair of shoes involved. But the polish I used on them is probably one of my new favorites!

Sephora recently changed their brand from Sephora by OPI to Formula X, and they have a great collection. I purchased a few, but my favorite is from the Electric collection. I bought Hyped, which is a bright neon purple with blue shimmer throughout. It dries to a matte, frosty finish but perks right back up to neon status if you throw a topcoat on.

ImageImage

I love this polish! I’ll probably do a manicure involving this color at some point soon, so you can see it in all its glory.

2 thoughts on “Flakies Galore!

Leave a Reply

