Soft hands

Anyone who does a lot of manicures is at risk for really dry hands. All those frequent changes in nail polish and exposure to acetone can tear up the skin around your nails. In addition to that, I also work in a hospital so I need to wash my hands a lot and use that drying alcohol-based hand sanitizer. And I have eczema, which basically means I have very sensitive dry skin at baseline.

Taking all that into consideration (and with my medical background), I’ve become an expert on hand moisturizing. Here are my favorite products:

Image

Β 

For daytime, my longtime favorite is Eucerin’s Intensive Repair Hand Creme. It hits all the necessities for someone with sensitive skin: fragrance free, and the good ingredients for moisturizing (alpha-hydroxy, urea mainly). Plus it moisturizes without that greasy feeling that other rich cremes have.

I did recently pick up FAB (First Aid Beauty) Ultra Repair Cream at Sephora. It was free for 250 points as a Beauty Insider. Since I’ve tried so many different products and have had my moisturizing routine down for a long time, I was surprised to love this so much. It isn’t technically fragrance-free (has a very light almost minty smell to it), which is a big no-no for sensitive skin, but looking at the ingredients it seems like the smell is mainly due to some of the organic components (white tea leaf, eucalyptus, licorice root). This moisturizer has ceramides in it, which is a huge bonus. Ceramides are helpful in improving the defective skin barrier in eczema. Eucerin does not have ceramides. I haven’t looked up the price on this yet. I imagine it’s much more expensive than the Eucerin.

And my nighttime hand moisturizer – Eucerin Original Healing Soothing Repair Creme. It’s a petroleum (think vaseline) based rich moisturizer that coats your hands and is amazing. I use it at nighttime because it’s definitely greasy and limits what you can touch if you use it regularly during the day. I get mine at work (we use it for the babies… it’s great for sensitive baby skin too!), but you can get it in a larger container at Target or drugstores.

For my cuticles, I use Burt’s Bees Lemon Butter Cuticle Cream.

Anyways, that’s my tried and true moisturizing routine. I’d recommend it to anyone who has sensitive skin or just wants to get some really soft skin!

13 thoughts on “Soft hands

  1. Catherine Dream

    I’m terrible with moisturising, I can’t do regular and that’s what it’s really all about. I always forget and am only forced to moisturise when they bleed – my hands are super sensitive.
    I am taking care of my cuticles now though, being real gentle with them and putting my oil concoction on them. : )
    Thinking of getting Brits Bees too, is it the only thing you use for them?
    I get the whole hand sanitizer and frequent washing thing, wreaks havoc on skin. When I worked in a chem lab I used Sudocrem – it was brilliant, ever used it?

    Reply
    1. doctorcrafty Post author

      I sometimes use an Essie cuticle oil that smells like apricots, but I use Burt’s Bees more frequently. Mainly because it’s not a liquid and is less messy. I love it!
      I’ve never used Sudocrem… I looked it up and I think it’s less available in the US (it says it’s mainly in the UK and Ireland). Eucerin is much easier to find here.

      Reply
      1. Catherine Dream

        Oh, ok. I didn’t know that about Sudocrem. I love Eucerin in general, as a brand, I use it for my face and it’s gorgeous.
        I only mentioned Sudocrem because it WON’T let any water through – it protects the skin that way, BUT it isn’t greasy. But I don’t know it wasn’t that available : )

    1. doctorcrafty Post author

      I highly recommend the FAB cream! I need to figure out how much of a dent it’ll put in my wallet, but I really love it. I bet doing the 33 day nail challenge is awful for the hands! Pretty on the eyes though πŸ™‚
      Sometimes if you do a hand scrub, then put an emollient (like a petroleum-based product) on while your hands are still slightly damp, it makes it better. Helps you get over the hump of really dry skin!
      *I don’t recommend hand scrubs to people with eczema because it can make things worse.*

      Reply
  2. Solar

    Greetings from California! I’m bored at work so I decided to check out your site on my iphone during lunch break. I really like the knowledge you present here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home. I’m surprised at how fast your blog loaded on my phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, superb blog!|

    Reply

Leave a Reply

