ILNP Birefringence

It’s been awhile since I’ve done any nail art. With Thanksgiving, Hanukkah, family staying with us, working, blah, blah, blah – I’ve had naked nails for almost a week. *Gasp* Such a travesty! I bought a few polishes from I Love Nail Polish, and I’ve been itching to put this glorious selection on my nails. Let’s just say it did not disappoint! Pictures do not do Birefringence justice. It’s an amazing ultrachrome with so many shifting colors. I tried to capture them all, but alas it ’twas not to be.

Here’s a sample of colors I found that are as close as possible to the ones represented in this stunning polish:

IMG_2006

Birefringence is, in most lighting, a turquoise-blue-purple shifting polish. But with other lighting or certain contortionist hand positions, it shifts to fuschia/magenta-gold. Incredible!

Image

Excuse the fact that I took the above pictures in my car (no worries, I was stopped and sitting in heavy traffic). But g’damn it’s gorgeous right? I can’t stop snapping pics!

So here are more pics:

Image

Image

Image

To speak of the polish itself, well, I love it. The first coat goes on pretty sheer, but a second coat makes it opaque and a 3rd makes it pop like crazy. For some reason, I got a ton of bubbles which hasn’t happened to me in awhile, but I haven’t seen that in any other swatches of this polish so it’s safe to assume I did something wrong haha. A good topcoat or two smoothed the bubbles out enough for it not to be distracting. But you can see it in the first picture where I’m holding the ILNP bottle.

IMG_2005

Just plain gorgeous! And seriously distracting. You’ll find yourself catching a new angle and stopping to stare… at inopportune times. Like when you’re walking into a public restroom and catch the sun reflecting off your pretty nails, then you murmur “Ooooh pretty” before you realize that all the ladies at the sink are staring at your crazy self. Yeah, that happened today.

Birefringence has most definitely made my favorite polish list and I can’t wait to try out the others I bought from ILNP! If this polish isn’t in your stash or on your wishlist, it should be.

8 thoughts on “ILNP Birefringence

Leave a Reply

