First Striping Tape Manicure

It was my birthday last week (yay!), and despite thinking that I couldn’t possibly need any more nail supplies my mother was awesome enough to get me striping tape, nail studs, brushes, and a variety of other fun things. So I had to try out my new toys!

Image

 

I used one of my all-time favorite colors, a bright minty green. I recently bought a few China Glaze polishes from Beyond Polish, which offers them at $3- $3.50! Highlight of my Summer was a must-have… it’s this amazing pastel neon mint green that I’m in love with! 

Image

 

And who doesn’t love a sparky mint green like Orly Sparkling Garbage? So I knew I had to use both! To accentuate the gorgeous greens, I started off with a nice neutral color – Essie Chinchilly. I love this color, but the polish was very sheer & thin/ almost runny. It was extremely patchy on the first coat, but I was pleasantly surprised that the 2nd coat made it evenly opaque.

Image

 

Excuse the lobster hands above – I adjusted the pic so you could see the dynamics of the sparkle.

And one more:

Image

 

Sparkling Garbage is an amazing glitter polish, but it does take quite a few coats to achieve opacity. You can kind of see in my pics that the glitter is a bit bumpy, and that’s because I slapped on a ton of it!

I think this came out pretty great considering it was my first time using striping tape. It did take awhile to get the hang of applying and removing the tape, but totally worth it!

On another note, I just got a huge amount of orgasmic nail mail! More MoYou London stamping plates, Konad white & black stamping polish, and the best of all – 6 ILNP polishes from the Spring preorder sale! I can’t wait to play with them all!

Also, if you’re still reading… I used my Canon Powershot camera instead of my iPhone camera for this post. Do you think it made a difference? I’m trying to make my pictures prettier 🙂

7 thoughts on “First Striping Tape Manicure

Leave a Reply

