Week 4: My favorite Untried Challenge mani!

The husband was traveling for work for pretty much all of March, so of course my extra alone time was used to play with my polishes! Bored? Paint your nails! Lonely? Paint your nails! Such a great excuse 😉

So this was the perfect time to practice using my new nail art brushes! I finally got a set for my birthday, and I’ve been scared to use them. But it wasn’t that bad! I certainly need some work drawing lines, but this actually ended up being my favorite manicure out of all my untried challenge manis.

I used two brushes (one thicker, one thinner) to draw on a simple plaid pattern. I also (surprisingly enough) have never used my matte topcoat, so I put that over the plaid nails. I figured it’d be too hard for me to do all 10 fingers that way, so I did a glitter accent nail and used the bright purple accent from the plaid to paint my pinky and thumb.

Image

 

And here’s a completely unflattering close up of the plaid:

Image

 

Excuse my dry skin and cuticles – I had been lax in my lotioning and oiling. After seeing these pics, I definitely amped up my skin care routine!

Here are all the polishes I used (all untried of course):

Image

 

Plaid nails:

  • Base color: Zoya Bevin – a really pretty light green with blue undertones
  • Lines: first, I painted on two thick lines vertically down one side of the nail using Julep Valerie (a very pretty opaque hunter green with gold shimmer)
  • Then I drew on two thick lines horizontally at the base of my nail using OPI Gargantuan Green Grape (a light green with yellow undertones… I know there are some batches out there that look more teal-blue, but I have the almost light lime green version)
  • And then I took my thin striper brush to paint on one vertical line and one horizontal line at the tip of the nail using Orly Frolic (a beautiful bright purple… almost a radiant orchid shade)
  • Lastly, I mattified it all using Essie Matte About You. It worked great, but I did need a thicker coat of it.

Glitter nail – China Glaze This is Tree-Mendous. I think it was a part of their recent holiday collection. I used 3 coats then 2 coats of topcoat (my beloved HK Girl) because it thinks topcoat is really yummy and eats it all up.

Pinky and thumb – Orly Frolic.

Now, I did notice that my matte top coat wore down after a day or two in spots. I had to reapply it to keep it matte rather than shiny. Does that happen usually? Or is that just my topcoat?

Anyways, I love this manicure and hope you like it too 🙂 This was the last of my untried challenge manicures for the Nail Challenge Collaborative, but I love using my older and untouched polishes so I think I’ll try to continue this as much as I can!

Check out the others:

 

6 thoughts on “Week 4: My favorite Untried Challenge mani!

  1. Kairi

    I’ve had that happen with the matte top coat too. But only from the edges, I’m using OPI Matte Top Coat.
    It’s a cute mani and plaid looks good, like a real plaid 😀

    Reply
  2. Catherine Dream

    LOVE the tame greens and this vivid pink! Also, gorgeous LINES.

    I’ve just (FINALLY) ordered a matte top coat and can’t wait to start mattifying away ; ) I DID use a matte top coat before, Inglot, but it was preblogging, so nothing is documented and none over stamping, so. Love your matte plaid.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

