Just a small-town girl: April NCC #2

I just HAD to pay tribute to one of my favorite 80s bands for the Nail Challenge Collaborative’s Music/ Movies/ TV theme. It’s time for my JOURNEY-inspired manicure!

Image

I took my inspiration from the cover of the album, The Essential Journey:

Image

Here’s a clearer shot of the cover I copied off of Spotify:

Image

As you can see, the album cover background almost looks like a combination of a saran wrap manicure with some sponged on details. So that’s exactly what I did for my thumb, index finger, and pinky.

Colors used for those fingers:

  • Base color – China Glaze Secret Peri-Winkle, a nice cornflower blue
  • Used saran wrap to layer on Color Club Baldwin Blues – a dark teal blue
  • Then I sponged on a small amount of Formula X by Sephora Heart-Stopping, a very light lavender with a blueish tint
  • More sponging using Essie Play Date – a brighter purple
  • Lastly, I sponged on a tiny bit of Julep Aisha – a darker cranberry reddish purple

Then I tried to emulate the beetle with wings from the middle of the cover by doing a water marble using bright colors. Here’s a close up of my middle finger:

Image

 

I used:

  • Formula X by Sephora Pyrotechnic – a bright fire red
  • Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear Sun Kissed – a bright orange
  • Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear Mellow Yellow – you guessed it, a bright yellow
  • Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear Blue Me Away! – yup, a bright blue

And another shot of the final look:

Image

So I don’t enjoy it as a complete manicure, but I think it served its purpose paying tribute to Journey. What do you think?

Check out some more NCC manicures:

 

6 thoughts on “Just a small-town girl: April NCC #2

Leave a Reply

