Nayll creations, including Doctor Who themed polish!

This is going to be a long post filled with a lot of pictures, but I swear it’ll be worth it to get to the end!!

I’ve been drooling over the Nayll website for awhile – Sara Harvey, the owner and creator, has put together this amazing site where you design your own polish and she makes it for you! It saves all the start-up costs, mess, and testing to do on your own. I contacted her in the off-chance she might need a swatcher, and she was kind enough to give me a discount for my purchase and she included her Holo Top Coat and her Smooth It Out Top Coat for free!

Before showing you my creations, I have to say the customer service was to die for! About an hour after I confirmed my purchase, I got an email saying it was already completed and ready to ship. When my package came, unfortunately one of my glitter polishes had broken. I emailed Sara immediately and she sent a replacement 2 days later!

So let’s get to my beauties! As I said, one of my glitter polishes broke in the package, so please excuse some of the bottle shots – they still have either a little residual glitter or some of the label came off from my cleaning.

First up, Circus Freak. I used the dark lavender crelly with silver and purple microglitter and white, yellow, and pink dots. It’s glitter-packed and only needed 2 coats! I tried this one with my Nail Pattern Boldness Glitter Food top coat, then KBShimmer Clearly on Top.

1-IMG_0340

The only thing was the yellow dot glitter – I was thinking it’d be brighter (looks like lemony sunshine on her site), but I’m sure the purple base dulls it out a bit making it look more gold than lemon. But I still love it! Here’s another pic to show it in more direct lighting, which really brings out the microglitter and some of the blue undertones. Also, it’s supposed to say “Circus Freak” under the Nayll logo, but that came off when I cleaned the bottle with acetone.

1-IMG_0338

 

Next up, I have Evening Lily. I used the hydrangea blue crelly base with silver, blue, and violet glitter and white dots.

1-IMG_0349

Such a stunning blue base! It reminds me of some Monet-esque watercolor painting. I used Nayll’s Smooth It Out (SIO) Top Coat, which blows my old Nail Pattern Boldness Glitter Food out of the water! My NPB one got gloopy after a few uses and didn’t apply evenly anymore. But SIO applies so smoothly and evens the bumpy glitter out so easily. Also on the bonus side, it dries glossy so you don’t need an additional top coat over it.

Another quick pic of Evening Lily in the shade.

1-IMG_0355

Love it! Next up are 3 polishes I designed around a Doctor Who theme. First up is Christmas Invasion. This is the episode that has robot Santas, lethal Christmas trees, and a newly regenerated 10th Doctor in the gorgeous form of David Tennant! I used the dark teal crelly base with multisized red glitter, and it ended up looking like a dupe for Cadillacquer’s Masterpiece. I was totally ok with that, seeing as how I’ve been wanting that polish as well!

1-IMG_0359

Second in my Doctor Who theme is Gallifrey! This was inspired by Lacquer or Leave Her, who created a polish “Precious” made to look like mixed metal. I loved it so much, I tried to recreate it! Once I did, it reminded me of how the Doctor describes his home planet, Gallifrey – silver-leaf trees and a burnt orange sky. I used a clear glitter base with silver, gold, and orange/copper multisized glitter. This is the one that broke in the original package, but here it is – intact and gorgeous!

1-IMG_0382

I tried it over 4 different polishes: index is Marc Jacobs Petra, middle finger is China Glaze Awaken, ring finger is China Glaze Poetic, and pinky is Essie Sable Collar. My favorite is definitely my middle finger (hehe, go figure). Here’s a close up:

1-IMG_0385

And here it is mattified:

1-IMG_0390

Phew, last one! And I saved the best one for last naturally. The pictures don’t nearly do it justice. My last design is Bigger on The Inside, which is inspired by the TARDIS. I used the blueberry crelly base with multisized blue and gold glitter. I didn’t want to take this off ever! I couldn’t stop looking at it.

1-IMG_0346

The base color almost shifts a bit depending on the lighting. As above, it can look like a light royal/ cobalt blue, but as you can see in the next 2 pics it has some teal undertones or can look like a deep royal blue. So pretty!

1-IMG_2799

 

1-IMG_2800

Please excuse my oddly colored hands in the last 2 pics – I was trying to find different lighting to show off that stunning polish! Packed full of glittery goodness!

So what do you all think? Which is your favorite? I think my hands down favorite has to be Bigger on The Inside, but I really do love them all. And I can’t wait to create more!!

Head on over to Nayll to make your own beautiful creations! Sara is a dream to work with 🙂

6 thoughts on “Nayll creations, including Doctor Who themed polish!

  1. Catherine Dream

    Such fun to create your own polish!!! : )

    ‘silver-leaf trees and a burnt orange sky’ ❤

    My Whovian heart is swooning – love the green Christmas colour, totally fits the episode! And Bigger on the Inside is DEFINITELY my favourite – such a perfect TARDIS blue!

    Reply
    1. doctorcrafty Post author

      I’m not sure if Nayll ships internationally, but if she does you need to try it! Glad your Whovian heart approves 🙂 I just finished all the new episodes and am wondering if I should start getting into the old Doctor Who.

      Reply
      1. Catherine Dream

        Oh, I’ve been wanting to get into classic Who for ages, but I want to do it properly, from the very first one – and I know I’ll get sucked in : ))

        I AM going to watch New Who all over again very soon – all of it – ❤

        Who's your favourite companion from New Who? If you have one that is.

      2. doctorcrafty Post author

        I’m going to watch New Who again soon too 🙂 Can’t get enough! Ugh, so hard to pick a favorite companion – I love Amy’s interactions with 11, Donna’s sassiness, and Rose’s interactions with 10. Maybe Rose? Can I choose River Song? Who’s yours?

      3. Catherine Dream

        I consider River as a completely new and separate category ; ))

        Rose! Yes! Love her, and agree about Amy and Donna completely! I gotta say Donna is my fav, although Amy has a special place in my heart…

        Aaaaah, and now I need to hurry up and start watching again ❤

  2. Pingback: Holo Humpday: ILNP Atomic Sherbet | Doctor Crafty

Leave a Reply

