Recreating my first stamped manicure: July NCC #2

Stamping was one of my first (and favorite) techniques when it came to nail art. I did a lot of stamping, and my second ever blog post showed 2 manicures where I was still getting the hang of things. For July’s NCC theme of recreating your first few manicures, I decided to stay pretty close to my original stamped manicure.

1-IMG_0402

After doing many stamped manis, I certainly don’t always get it right. But I think I’ve learned many valuable lessons. One of which is finding the right type of polish for stamping. If you want to use the polishes already found in your personal stash, look for ones that are nice and opaque – this will allow the thin layer from the stamp to really show up. Also, quick dry polishes are both great and a curse. They are usually good formula-wise and opaque, but you have to work quickly in order to get the full image on your stamper and then transferring to your nail.

1-IMG_0398

My first blog post showing a stamped manicure had a few issues. I used Zoya Valerie, which is gorgeous but not a great polish for stamping. It’s a bit too sheer to really show up well. I also was a bit slower in stamping, so I ended up with some patches. I tried to fix this by brushing on more polish, but this just resulted in really dark spots.

This time around, I used a different stamping color that was tried and true. But I used the same base color and stamp. Oh and obviously I got nubbinized again. I went canoeing and camping for the July 4th weekend, and it wreaked havoc on my nails. I came home with breaks all over. But I don’t mind nubbins 🙂 

  • Base color: Essie Tart Deco
  • Stamping color: Zoya Charisma
  • Stamp: GALS plate GA19

1-Purple and Peach Stamped

I think there’s a big improvement! Better stamping polish, a prettier color combination (in my opinion), better cleanup, etc. And geez does lighting make a difference! The recreation pic really shows the true color of Tart Deco.

Check out the other ladies’ recreations:

 

 

5 thoughts on “Recreating my first stamped manicure: July NCC #2

  1. Catherine Dream

    Yay for stamping! My blogging was the same when it comes to stamping ; )

    Again, I’m really liking these comparison posts! : )) And, I REMEMBER THAT FIRST MANI!!! : D (don’t know why it’s so exciting.)

    Reply
    1. doctorcrafty Post author

      Haha glad you remembered that post!! I feel more relevant now 😉
      I’ll have 2 more recreations coming up! It’s a lot of fun to see all the improvement even in under a year of blogging/ polish obsession.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

