Plaid Double Stamping Manicure

Here comes a manicure that I really was excited about… until it actually was on my nails. Despite playing around with nail stamping for awhile, I’ve actually never done double stamping. Every time I saw it on others, it was like a double rainbow of nail polish!

So I finally decided to try it out, and I picked some colors that look great together and a plaid image that I figured would look great. Sounds great in theory right? In actuality, it didn’t turn out as nice as I had hoped. I don’t hate it, but it’s certainly no double plaid stamping rainbow like it was in my imagination!

See for yourself:

Plaid double nail stamping manicure purple green white

See? Not awful, but not great… just meh. I think the image I chose was maybe too busy. The other double stamping manicures I’ve seen and loved have had less busy images. I think the white and green kind of overpower my pretty Zoya Charisma. Plus, I accidentally stamped the ring finger off-kilter for the base stamp.

Here’s another quick pic:

Plaid double nail stamping manicure purple white green

 

Manicure:

  • Base Color: my beloved Zoya Charisma, the stunning bright purple
  • Stamping Plate: Shany Cosmetics SH212
  • First stamp: Konad White using plaid image
  • 2nd stamp: Sally Hansen Mint Sprint using same plaid image
  • Topped off with the always great HK Girl, my favorite top coat for stamping!

I definitely want to try this technique again, but I think for the future I’ll use an image that doesn’t cover as much of the nail.

I also just received my very first semi-squishy stamper and a ton of great stamping polishes from Mundo de Unas, so I’ll be playing around more!

What do you think? Have you done double stamping before? If so, any suggestions to make it look amazing?

6 thoughts on “Plaid Double Stamping Manicure

  1. strangemaryjane

    I think this looks cool! I would love to see you do it with a floral or vine type stamp sometime. maybe really offset, so it’s like more than one design. anyways you sound disappointed in this design, but I think it’s just because you are the one that worked on it – it looks great to me!

    Reply
    1. doctorcrafty Post author

      Thanks so much! I think I’m always harder on myself than others are 🙂 I like your idea – I’ll have to try it with a different pattern and maybe rotate the image a bit so it doesn’t overlay as much. Great advice!

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Jungle wallpaper manicure: January NCC #2 | Doctor Crafty

Leave a Reply

