Lilly Pulitzer-inspired Mani for August’s NCC

It’s August already! It seems like July went by so quickly. August ushers in another theme from the Nail Challenge Collaborative – Tea Party! I can’t wait to see what everyone does for this challenge.

One of the first things that came to mind when thinking about tea parties was a fancy lady in pearls and a bright, colorful Lilly Pulitzer dress. Why? I think my time as a sorority girl in Virginia influenced that – every spring/summer meant that all the Lilly dresses came out to play.

So here’s my first manicure for the Tea Party theme inspired by a print by Lilly Pulitzer:

lilly pulitzer monogram nail art freehand manicure teal pink reef madness

 

Lilly, to me, is always bright and colorful. My manicure was inspired by the pattern, Reef Madness. Here’s a pic of it I found on a tumblr account, Pulitzer Prints:

lilly pulitzer reef madness

 

And since I equate Lilly with monograms, I added one of those on my ring finger as an accent. Here’s a pic where you can see the monogram a little better:

lilly pulitzer monogram nail art freehand manicure teal pink reef madness

My freehand is still just ok, but I really like my middle finger (hehe naturally). I think it’s the only one that even slightly resembles a coral reef pattern. And my monogram definitely could use some work!

lilly pulitzer monogram nail art freehand manicure teal pink reef madness

 

Colors used:

  • Base color: Julep Lani, a beautiful bright teal.
  • Coral pattern: China Glaze Purple Panic, a great purple-pink shimmery polish.
  • Monogram: Sephora by OPI A Ha! Moment

What do you guys think? Do you have any tips for doing freehand? Check out the other NCC ladies’ manis here:

 

3 thoughts on “Lilly Pulitzer-inspired Mani for August’s NCC

  1. auto dealers Valdosta ga

    Appreciating the hard work you put into your
    website and in depth information you present.
    It’s awesome to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same unwanted rehashed information.
    Excellent read! I’ve saved your site and I’m adding
    your RSS feeds to my Google account.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

