Squish the Rainbow Leadlighting

It’s been a really long time since I’ve tried a leadlighting manicure and I recently picked up the entire Rica jelly polish collection (Squish the Rainbow), so I figured it was high time to venture back into leadlighting! If you haven’t heard of this style, it’s basically like a color-by-numbers technique using jelly polishes over a stamp.

I really just wanted to play around practicing leadlighting with different stamps. The intention was not to create a wearable manicure, but I think it actually looks pretty good!

Rica leadlighting manicure

Rica leadlighting manicure

Not bad right? It’s flowery but geometric, and the colors kind of bring it all together.

Another pic with my thumb in there

Another pic with my thumb in there

What I used for this mani:

  • Base color: OPI Alpine Snow
  • Stamps: MoYou London Explorer 03… such a perfect plate for this technique! All the images are detailed and have lots of areas to color in.
  • Stamping polish: Rica Blackout
  • LeadlightingΒ colors: Rica Squishy Blueberry, Squishy Lime, Squishy Lemon, and Squishy Grape… These are all great jelly polishes! They worked so perfectly for leadlighting, and they look so pretty over white. LOVE!
  • I applied the leadlighting colors with a tiny dotting tool to help fill in smaller areas.

This kind of manicure makes me feel like I’m a kid with a coloring book! It’s so fun and relaxing, but it does take quite awhile if the stamping images are detailed. The end game makes it totally worth it though – the manicures come out so great!

What do you think? Have you done leadlighting before? What other images do you like to use?

34 thoughts on “Squish the Rainbow Leadlighting

  1. julia

    Wow again a stunning manicure!
    I’ve just discovered this blog but I’m already a big fan πŸ˜‰
    Looking forward to read your next post!

    xx julia

    Reply

Leave a Reply

