Fanbrush Manicure: October NCC #1

I have finally gotten into the Fall spirit! I’m a big supporter of wearing whatever shade/ color nail polish you want whenever you want. And I still will totally rock a neon or bright color even in the dark of winter. BUT I have really been gravitating towards the more muted, darker colors of fall now. Maybe it’s becauseΒ manyΒ of the new Fall collections are continuing to arriveΒ on my doorstep!

Anyways, today I have a very Fall-appropriate manicure for you. October’s Nail Challenge Collaborative theme is Stripes! I wanted to use this month to try techniques I haven’t done before or practice others I’m not so great at. So first up is my “messy striped manicure” using a previously untried technique – fanbrush!

Fall fanbrush manicure

Fall fanbrush manicure

I’m now kind of sad that I haven’t done this before! It was soooo easy! And it’s one of those types of nail art that is ok if it’s messy (my favorite type πŸ˜‰ ). It kind of reminds me of camouflage.

Another pic for your viewing pleasure!

Another pic for your viewing pleasure!

I used:

  • Base Color – Revlon Spanish Moss… a gorgeous opaque olive green. I bought this last year and have really loved this color so much!
  • Top Color – KBShimmer Stonewashed… From the new Fall 2014 collection, this is a stunning greyed-out navy blue. I’m loving all the muted dusty shades this fall.

What do you think? Does this remind you of camouflage as well? Do you like fanbrush manis?

Check out all the other striped manicures from the NCC ladies:

33 thoughts on “Fanbrush Manicure: October NCC #1

  1. Simona LightYourNails

    I love both shades you used! Those dusty colours are so “me” when the colder season arrives! And you did great with the fanbrush technique. I attemped it a couple times and what I got was just an awful mess 😦

    Reply
    1. doctorcrafty Post author

      Thanks so much! I really am so into the dusty shades right now too! I found that I got cleaner lines when I manually separated the bristles every now and again and just lightly brushed it over the nail.

      Reply
  2. Patricia Buchanan

    I have been enjoying your nail art recently and really appreciate you detailing the technique you have used. For example on this nail I thought the colors were in opposite order. I will try this technique immediately. The results are fantastic. And yes, it does resemble camo.

    Reply
  3. Lustrous Lacquer

    It does look a little like camo! I too like to wear what ever color I feel like wearing at the time no matter the season, and up until last year I wasn’t a big fan of the darker vampy colors. But now I happily rock them in the colder months.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

