Gone Girl Manicure: November’s NCC #4

Gone Girl: one of the most f***ed up books I’ve read in a loooong time. And it was recently made into a movie that I (finally!) saw yesterday, so of course my last NCC book-themed manicure had to be inspired by it.

Have you read Gone Girl yet? It’s this crazy story of two screwed up people who are married to one another and spend a lot of time screwing one another over. It’s reaaaalllly good! And I was pretty impressed with how the movie turned out too. I definitely recommend it!

Book Cover

Book Cover

And here’s my mani:

Gone Girl Manicure

Gone Girl Manicure

My index and middleΒ finger were supposed to be the wisps of blonde hair that are on the book cover. They ended up looking more like light tree branches. I think I probably should have used a much thinner nail art brush, but hindsight is 20/20 right? My ring finger and pinky are much more successfully obvious – they are blood splatter! This is inspired by, well, blood. In the beginning of the book, Amy (the wife) is missing and there is blood splatter in their kitchen.

Colors used:

  • Index and Middle Finger
    • Base color: Julep Cleopatra… a satin-finish black that does show a little streakiness but is otherwise a nice polish
    • Hair/ tree branches: Julep Alexandra… an ugly eggshell cream neutral polish that looks awful with my skintone, but is great for nail art
  • Ring Finger and Pinky
    • Base color: Polish My Life Stripped… as I’ve mentioned before, a great 2 coat white
    • Blood: Sephora Formula X Pyrotechnic… an amazing red creme

So yeah, I’m not thrilled with this mani but it’s alright. The book and movie are much better than Β my nails show! What do you think? Would you like tree branches for hair? Do you desire those *extremely* thick tresses? And have you seen/ read Gone Girl? Did you like the story as much as I did?

Check out more book-themed manicures from the NCC ladies:

27 thoughts on “Gone Girl Manicure: November’s NCC #4

  1. Ali @ FixinToFaff

    For a hot minute, I was like, did she forget to post a Halloween mani? LOL! I haven’t read this or seen the movie yet, although we had intended to go see it with my mom back in October and never made it. Sounds like it probably would have upset her quite a bit so that’s probably for the best!

    Reply
    1. doctorcrafty Post author

      Haha – I definitely felt a Halloween vibe while doing this mani! Yeah, I don’t see this being a sweet mother movie or a date movie! But it really is great πŸ™‚

      Reply
  2. Lustrous Lacquer

    I haven’t seen the movie yet but I read the book when it first came out. I agree it’s pretty messed up but I loved it. Nice interpretation of the cover. I can feel your pain about the smaller brush, that’s usually my problem with nail art.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

