Blue-Eyed Girl Lacquer’s It Got Away From Me, Yeah… Collection: The Doctors

Phew, that was one wordy title ^ there! But what can I say, it got away from me 😉 I am SO very excited to share with you 2 polishes from the new (and final) installation of the It Got Away From Me, Yeah… Collection. Julie of Blue-Eyed Girl Lacquer contacted me to help review this collection, and I promptly peed myself with joy! Reason one – I adore BEGL polishes and own almost all of the other Doctor Who-themed polishes she has made. Reason two (I’m sure you can guess this one) – I am a huge Whovian nerd, and anything to do with that show makes my heart(s) beat faster. So combining those two = pure puppy kisses and baby laughter! Plus, Julie is so great so how could I not be excited?! *These polishes as mentioned were provided for review*

The Doctors portion of the It Got Away From Me, Yeah… collection is set to release on November 30, 2014 at 3:30pm EST. Details are at the end of this post including all applicable links.

Anyways, let’s get to it! The final part of this collection is based on the Doctors. First up, I have Grandpa. This polish is based on the War Doctor – the incarnation of the 8th Doctor who fought in the Time War. He’s only featured in the Day of the Doctor and the Name of the Doctor feature episodes, and he’s the warrior of the bunch. He meets Doctors 10 & 11, and they’re tongue-in-cheek known as Chinny (11), Sandshoes (10), and Grandpa (War Doctor). The polish based on the War Doctor is a stunner! It’s an slightly off-white creme with extremely subtle gold and rose microflakies.

Blue-Eyed Girl Lacquer Grandpa

Blue-Eyed Girl Lacquer Grandpa

The pics don’t even do this polish justice. I think this looks milky white (does that make anyone else think of A League Of Their Own where Madonna is teaching a teammate how to read via a romance novel – “milky white breasts?” Just me? Alright then…). My camera really didn’t want to capture the itty bitty flakies, but I swear they’re there and they’re so pretty! I did three coats for these swatches (the first was a tad streaky as it happens with white polishes, but the 2nd and 3rd evened it out perfectly), and the formula was super easy to work with. I think this could be perfect for work, a wedding, even the beach – it’s really versatile!

Another pic of BEGL Grandpa

Another pic of BEGL Grandpa

And the second polish I have for you is Zero Balance Dwarf Star Alloy. This one is based on the Eleventh Doctor, and it references the type of material that makes up a “perfect cell” to house/ imprison the Doctor. This polish is a gooooorgeous black linear holo – definitely my new favorite black holo! The holo is super strong, and the formula is perfect.

Blue-Eyed Girl Lacquer Zero Balance Dwarf Star Alloy

Blue-Eyed Girl Lacquer Zero Balance Dwarf Star Alloy

And a closeup of Zero Balance Dward Star Alloy:

BEGL Zero Balance Dwarf Star Alloy

BEGL Zero Balance Dwarf Star Alloy

FYI – both polishes are shown with the Digital Nails top coat, Ain’t Nobody Got Time For That! As you can see, it didn’t dull the holo one bit!

Overall, I’m super impressed with these polishes! I think out of these two, Zero Balance Dwarf Star Alloy is the winner for me. Mainly because I’m a holo ho. But they are both gorgeous, and  you couldn’t go wrong with either!

The rest of the collection is a collaboration with Monster Polish and has 3 more gorgeous polishes (one more BEGL and 2 from Monster Polish) and some Doctor Who nail vinyls by Monster Polish. Oh, and Julie is also releasing another Siren polish (I’ve seen some swatches, and it looks amazing too!)!

The other It Got Away From Me, Yeah… polishes:

  • Monster Polish What’s Wrong With This Jumper? (Ninth Doctor): black holographic with purple shimmer and a satin finish
  • BEGL Void Stuff (Tenth Doctor): a deep teal/ green linear holographic with blue to red shifting glass flecks
  • Monster Polish I Was Hoping For Minimalism, But I Think I Came Out With Magician (Twelfth Doctor): deep navy blue jelly with red shimmer

Both Monster Polish and BEGL will be selling the full set, which will cost $50 and include all five bottles of polish as well as a sample set of Doctor Who vinyl decals. Each shop will have their individual bottles of their polishes listed, as well as additional vinyl decals that can be purchased at $1 for a set of 10 decals. The BEGL linear holographics and shifters will be $12, the flakies will be $10, and the cremes, shimmers, glitters, and microglitters will be $8.50. The Monster Polish glitter will be $8 and the holographic will be $9. This will be the final time that the Doctor Who polishes will be restocked, so get them while they’re still available!!

I know I plan on picking up a few more! I’ll probably get Void Stuff (because I heart Ten, and anything teal and holo should be mine), the decals, and the Monster Polish based on Twelve. Let’s be honest, I’ll probably just purchase the rest of the collection! 🙂 What do you think? Will you pick up either of these or the others from this collection? Do you have any of the other BEGL Doctor Who polishes?

Blue-Eyed Girl Lacquer

Monster Polish

31 thoughts on “Blue-Eyed Girl Lacquer’s It Got Away From Me, Yeah… Collection: The Doctors

  1. Catherine Dream

    You lucky dog! : ) These are awesome!

    And ‘Zero Balance Dwarf Star Alloy’?! Was there ever a more perfect name?!

    I think NOT.

    My hearts swoon over all these references to Doctor Who and I WANT ALL OF THEM POLISHES, doesn’t matter really what actual colours they are…. : P

    I mean…. I Was Hoping For Minimalism, But I Think I Came Out With Magician?!

    In love.

    Reply
    1. doctorcrafty Post author

      YES! I need them all! I bought the entire Gents of Doctor Who collection and most of the Women of Doctor Who collection too 🙂 I always love wearing something on my nails that reminds me of my favorite show 🙂

      Reply
  2. Blue-Eyed Girl

    I love this! Thank you so much for such amazing swatches and a lovely review! ❤ ❤ I'm very glad that you liked them! 😀

    Reply
      1. doctorcrafty Post author

        Same here! I’m a sucker for any polish based on Doctor Who! Ashley from Plump & Polished just put her review up today, and she has some amazing swatches of Void Stuff – I am definitely picking that one up too!

Leave a Reply

