Scaled gradient and texture mani

When the weather started getting cold and grey, I had a strong need to brighten up my nails. So I broke out some vivid girly colors to make me happier! As I’ve mentioned before, I’m a big fan of wearing whatever color makes you happy… and this mani certainly did that for me. πŸ™‚

My cheery Winter mani

My cheery Winter mani

I started out wanting to utilize Zoya Carter (that beautiful PixieDust), and I noticed that there was a nice pink sparkly accent.Β So my pink & purple color scheme was born! I also decided I wanted to try a scaled gradient again (I tried it in black and white here). Simply Nailogical is the master and creator of scaled gradients, and I hope to one day make mine look as pretty as hers!

Slightly different lighting - check out the complexity of that textured polish!

Slightly different lighting – check out the complexity of that textured polish!

And a close up of Zoya Carter:

Zoya Carter

Zoya Carter

Isn’t that gorgeous?! I love the complexity that the texture gives this polish – there’s almost a blackened purple base with purple and pink sparkles. LOVE!

And a close up of Worlds Apart:

Ethereal Lacquer Worlds Apart

Ethereal Lacquer Worlds Apart

And this polish is another stunner! Ethereal LacquerΒ Worlds ApartΒ is a bright purple jelly with pinky-red and gold shimmer. So gorgeous!

How I did this mani:

  • Pinky and thumb: Ethereal Lacquer Worlds Apart
  • Ring finger: Zoya Carter
  • Index & Middle finger:
    • Base color: Models Own Shades… a beautiful hot pink/ coral. This baby is opaque in 2 coats!
    • Gradient with MO Shades and OPI Do You Have This Color In Stockholm? I taped it off using nail vinyls, did the gradient at the base of the nail, then top coated it and let it dry. Then I taped it off again with vinyls and did the same gradient on the tip of the nail.

I loved this mani so much!! Do you like it too? Have you tried scaled gradients? What’s your favorite thing to do to your nails to lift your mood in the dreary Winter?

28 thoughts on “Scaled gradient and texture mani

  1. Catherine Dream

    This is impressive!! The gradient looks amazing!

    And I checked out Simply Nailogical’s gradients – WOW!

    It’s nice to see there are so many techniques yet to try out πŸ™‚

    Reply
  2. Jamie

    These are great! Those polishes go amazing together and I’m loving the scaled gradient. I’ll definitely have to give that a shot soon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

