Purple flakie gradient manicure with stamped accent

Hi sweeties! Happy Friday! It’s colder than a witches teat here in PA, and I’m just counting down the days until it warms up again. I hope y’all are keeping warm! For today’s manicure, I really wanted something vivid. I didn’t like the base color I choseย but didn’t want to start from the beginning, so I ended up layering and dabbing and stampingย until I liked it!

Purple flakie graient + stamping

Purple flakie gradient + stamping

So that Julep bottle I’m holding is the polish I used as my base color, Ariana. I originally was going to just wear that alone, but I didn’t like it so much. It’s a berry-leaning eggplant purple with a lot of silvery shimmer, and the formula was pretty crappy – gloopy but weirdly thin, and it took forever to dry. Anyways, I decided that instead of starting over with another mani altogether, I’d just throw a bunch of other stuff on it until I liked the result! ๐Ÿ™‚

A better picture of this manicure

A better picture of this manicure

So I layered Orly’s Purple Poodle over that Julep, and I just love the result! Purple Poodle is this raspberry jelly polish with some purple and blue microglitter, and it really warmed up the Julep polish but still let a bit of shimmer shine through. I know I slapped some other stuff on top of that combo, but you can see it at the base of my nails and behind the stamp.

And can we just talk about those flakies?! I am officially deeply in love with multichrome flakies! I Love Nail Polish did such a great job with this line – I was lucky enough to win 6 in a giveaway, and I bought a few extra as well since I love them so! I chose one that leaned strongly purple/blue (Luna), and it matched perfectly to the base color!

Just look at those flakies!!

Just look at those flakies!!

As you can see in that closeup, Luna leans mostly raspberry purple, but shifts to teal, blue, pink, gold, and a smidge of green! In certain lighting, the flakies blend into the rest of the polish but will come alive if you move your hands. I love it!

An odd angle to show off more flakie goodness

An odd angle to show off more flakie goodness!

I love this above picture just for the bottle shot! I wanted to show you different angles so you could see more of the flakie shift.

Products used:

  • Base color: Julep Ariana… as described above – a yucky no-good polish, but a surprisingly good base for this!
  • Jelly topper: Orly Purple Poodle… warm raspberry jelly with purple and blue microglitters.
  • Stamping plate: MoYou London Suki 04
  • Stamping polish: Essie Nothing Else Metals… a light silvery lavender chrome that is perfect for stamping!
  • Flakie: ILNP Luna… described and shown in detail above. I just dabbed this over the top half of my nail a few times. It’s amazingly opaque in 2-3 coats on its own, so you see it real well in this mani.

So what do you think? Do you ever do this type of thing for a mani – just layer/ dabble/ stamp and add things until you love it or just have to start over? Are you staying warm this frigid part of winter? Have a great weekend!!

33 thoughts on “Purple flakie gradient manicure with stamped accent

  1. Cheyenne

    I’m not a fan of Julep polishes either, mine also have that thick but runny formula to them. I love the added touch with the flakies though ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
    1. doctorcrafty Post author

      I used to love all my Juleps, but the most recent ones I’ve received have really disappointed me! I think I’m going to use up all my points and cancel soon!

      Reply
  2. Andrea

    That flakie is so pretty! I haven’t been getting my Julep boxes for a long time. I wish they would have bloggers actually review and swatch for them before the colors are released. It would make me more likely to purchase.

    Reply
  3. Jenny Gilmore

    Haha! YES! I don’t do it nearly as much as I used to but I used to layer and dabble all the time…it is actually where my blog got its name! This is gorgeous and I love that stamp design!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

