Oscar dress manicure: March’s NCC #1

Hello sweeties and welcome to March! I’m hoping against hope that it’s going to start getting warm soon! March ushers in another theme from the Nail Challenge Collaborative, and this month we’re doing manis inspired by fashion. Since the Oscars just happened, I figured at least one would be based on a beautiful dress worn at that event.

Julianne Moore at the 2015 Oscars

Julianne Moore at the 2015 Oscars

For my first NCC look, I decided to base my mani on Julianne Moore’s dress. I thought that the addition of texture at the chest and waist would translate perfectly to a manicure. It wasn’t my favorite dress seen at the Oscars, but it was certainly one I thought I could recreate easily! Plus she won an Oscar, so she deserves homage! 🙂

My mani based on Julianne Moore's Oscar dress

My mani based on Julianne Moore’s Oscar dress

I actually did this manicure from my memory of what Moore’s dress looked like. And in my memory, I thought her dress was more off-white than it actually was. But after looking at her dress again, I wish that I had used a lighter base color like OPI My Vampire Is Buff or something like that. Also I had remembered the rest of the dress as a shimmery off-white, so I made my base a holo. But in reality, Moore’s dress looked more textured throughout. Ah well!

Oscar dress manicure

Oscar dress manicure

But despite that, I still like the overall outcome! I really like the pop of texture at the base and tip of the nail. In different colors, I think this would be very wearable!

Polishes used:

  • Base color: Zoya Charlotte… this is a mini polish that was a limited release, and I got it in one of Zoya’s special sales. It was in a set of 3 – this odd greenish-tinted neutral shade, a gold metallic, and a black. I do not like Charlotte. It looks absolutely awful on me!
  • I topped Zoya Charlotte with Digital Nails Spectraflair Linear Holographic Topcoat... this is my favorite holo top coat ever! I decided to add this to the mani because Moore’s dress was more complex than just a creme base.
  • Textures:
    • Zoya Tomoko… This is a beautiful champagne PixieDust – LOVE! I dotted this at the base and the tip of each nail.
    • Zoya Dahlia… the perfect black PixieDust… also LOVE! I placed small dots of this at the tip and base of each nail on top of Tomoko to emulate Moore’s dress.

What do you think? What was your favorite dress seen at the Oscars? My favorites were Naomi Watts’ and Rosamond Pikes’.

Check out more fashion-inspired manis from the NCC ladies:

28 thoughts on “Oscar dress manicure: March’s NCC #1

    1. doctorcrafty Post author

      Thank you so much! I want to do something similar with colors that actually look good with my skin tone lol! Can’t wait to see your fashion manis!! 🙂

      Reply
  1. Dani FromPolishwithLove

    I wasn’t crazy about Charlotte either but I LOVE it with the Spectraflair on top!! I actually saw this and couldn’t wait to see what you used and was excited when I saw that it was Charlotte because I have that!!!! I think you interpreted her dress perfectly!

    Um, I didn’t watch the Oscars…………

    Reply
    1. doctorcrafty Post author

      Thank you so much!! I wish Charlotte look better on my skintone because it does look good with the holo top coat!
      No need to watch the Oscars! The hubby and I love movies, so we always watch. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

