Tartan manicure: March’s NCC #3

Hello my sweeties!! And a happy Monday to y’all! Tomorrow is St. Patrick’s Day, so this week I wanted to do manis accordingly. Not truly festive, but festive-ish (so not a word, but shhhh). To combine that and the March Challenge theme of fashion, I decided to try out a tartan pattern on my nails. Yes I know tartan patterns are Scottish, not Irish. But people totally wear kilts in St. Paddy’s Day parades, so it’s kosher (how many cultural groups can I reference?!).

My tartan skittlette manicure

My tartan skittlette manicure

I did this really quickly, but I love how it came out! I’m usually pretty awful with freehand lines, but these were better than my usual. Obviously they’re not perfect, but I’m improving slowly! 🙂 I was considering doing a full mani with every nail plaid, but I think I like it better this way.

Another pic of my tartan mani

Another pic of my tartan mani

These remind me of a cozy flannel or fleece plaid blanket. I just want to grab a cup of coffee or hot chocolate with this mani! This would be a good for fall, winter, or Christmas. Plaid really goes well with everything.

Polishes used:

  • Accent nail: piCture pOlish Badass… This is a charcoal grey “bijou” holo. I don’t really know what bijou means (I guess I could consult Dr. Google very easily, but I’m feeling lazy), but this polish is a subtle scattered holo and is gorgeous. This is one of PP’s blogger collabs and is one of my favorites! Simple but beautiful!
  • Tartan nails:
    • Base color: Zoya Sookie… Ugh, this is the kind of perfect red nail polish that makes me utter orgasmic noises when I put it on lol! It’s such a stunning cherry red creme with a perfect formula.
    • I painted on a hashmark design with OPI Malaga Wine, a beautiful burgundy creme.
    • I then painted the overlapping squares with Rica Blackout, the perfectly opaque black creme that works amazingly in nail art and stamping.
    • Accent stripes of Essie Good As Gold… the best metallic chrome gold ever! It’s easily opaque, so it’s perfect for nail art and stamping.

And now for your daily David Tennant! He’s Scottish, so it’s appropriate for this mani (and appropriate for anytime you want to look at something pretty).

David Tennant, doctor who

Yummy yummy

What do you think? Have you done tartan or plaid manis before? Any fun plans for St. Patrick’s Day?

Check out more fashion inspired manicures from the NCC ladies:

24 thoughts on “Tartan manicure: March’s NCC #3

Leave a Reply

