Glitter chevron skittlette manicure

Hello sweeties! While I’m away on vacation, I wanted to share with you a slightly older manicure of mine. It’s one of those “throw a bunch of random things together and maybe it’ll look ok?” type of manis, which I always love! And this mani involves glitter… also LOVE! The only issue with glitter for me – it gets everywhere and you’ll find pieces of glitter in random places 23 days after you’ve worn it on your nails. I swear I’ll pick off microglitters from my face way after it’s been removed!

Glitter herpes, demetri martin

Demetri Martin had it right… damn glitter herpes! It’s the gift that keeps giving, whether you want it or not!

Anyways, here’s my herpes mani? Nope… that sounds awful. Note to self – do NOT ever call a manicure your “herpes mani.” So, here’s my glitter chevron skittlette! That’s nicer, although it’s easier to call it a herpes mani LOL.

My glitter chevron skittlette mani

My glitter chevron skittlette mani

Much prettier than herpes right? Geez, I need to stop talking about the herp!

Just look at that purple!

Just look at that purple!

I really liked how this came out! I wanted to break out my chevron vinyls because it’s such an easy way to get a beautiful accent.

And don’t all the polishes go well together?! When I’m choosing polishes to throw together, I tend to use one with multiple colored glitters or shimmer. Then it’s easy to choose the other polishes – I just take some of the accented glitter colors and try to match them! So for this mani, I first chose the KBShimmer crelly glitter Meow or Never. That polish has some purple and blue matte glitters, so I picked out a brighter purple and a blue glitter!

Here’s a closeup of Meow or Never:

KBShimmer Meow or Never

KBShimmer Meow or Never

Please excuse the yellowed cuticle area! I was playing around with a yellow chartreuse holo (which looked TERRIBLE on me FYI), and it stained like a mother.

And here’s a closeup of the gorgeous blue glitter:

Blue-Eyed Girl Lacquer 2000 Years

Blue-Eyed Girl Lacquer 2000 Years

Love this SO much! Despite this being the offending glitter polish, I adore it!

Polishes/ products used:

  • Index finger: China Glaze Plur-ple… This gorgeous purple is another from the new Electric Nights collection! The formula on this one was perfection (I had pooling/ uneven issues with the other purple in the collection), and the color is stunning! I LOVE this bright almost neon purple!
  • Middle finger:
  • Ring finger: BEGL 2000 Years… This stunning ocean blue microglitter has bits of silvery holo glitter interspersed with the rest, and I love it so hard! I used 3 coats for full opacity (I could have gotten away with 2, but I wanted the tips to be more opaque). It’s also part of Julie’s amazing Doctor Who collection (The It Got Away From Me, Yeah… collection), and it’s based on Rory and Amy, some of the Doctor’s companions. This name gets me in the feels – the love Rory has for Amy is something everyone should strive for!
  • Pinky: KBShimmer Meow or Never… This gorgeous crelly glitter has a beautiful pale grey base that almost leans a bit purple. Matte glitters in dark blue, grey, purple, and light blue are packed in the base and easy to get on the nail. This was from the newest Spring 2015 collection, and it’s perfection! I used 2 coats.

So that’s that! I think I mentioned herpes more than a Valtrex ad. Hopefully that didn’t turn you off and you stuck around for the mani! If you stuck around, what do you think? Do you like this kind of “kitchen sick” manicure where you throw a bunch of random things together?

And here’s your daily David Tennant:

David Tennant Can't tell? Lick it, doctor who

26 thoughts on “Glitter chevron skittlette manicure

  1. Susanna Marquardt

    Oh, my gosh, you are cracking me up with the herp references! It’s like you started and just can’t stop! herpesherpesherpesherpesherpesherpesherpesherpes…the herp. Anyway, great combo of polishes and I always appreciate an awesome macro shot, it’s the best way to commune with a beautiful mani when you can’t see it IRL.

    Reply
    1. doctorcrafty Post author

      Hehe thank you so much Susanna!! I totally had verbal/ written diarrhea! Still better than having herpes 😉
      I agree – macros are always so helpful to see polishes up close!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

