Quick vacation manicures

Hope everyone had lovely holidays! I worked over Christmas, so I got New Years off. The husband and I went down to Virginia to visit friends and my in-laws. We missed it down there! Such great people, amazing yet cheap seafood, and best of all – the beach! We were even able to stop in Williamsburg to pick up our favorite snack, bread ends from The Cheese Shop. So yummy!

I did 2 quick manis while on break. One before I left, and another a few days in. The first:

Image

 

Half moon manicure using Lime Crime Pastelchio as the base color. Pastelchio is a neon pastel lime green – I’ve been wanting this one for awhile and decided I would treat myself as a present. I don’t know if I’ll wear it on its own, but it’ll be great for nail art. And the top color is China Glaze’s Take a Trek. Now this is part of the holographic collection and it even photographs similar to a holo, but it certainly doesn’t look like a holo in person. I may be spoiled by the crazy awesome holos in the Color Club line, but I feel like this is a poor substitute for a holo in general. Plus (and I probably should’ve seen this coming), it didn’t stay the pretty color from the bottle once layered over the Lime Crime. It went from the intended steel blue-grey pseudo-holo to an almost forest green. I still like it because it ended up looking like a shimmer and the color combination still worked, but it most definitely wasn’t what I had in mind.

Then it started to chip while on break, so of course I needed to change it up!

Image

 

Mmmm I LOVE this polish! I splurged on a few indie polishes from abroad (using the amazing Llarowe site) and amongst those was this gem – Emily de Molly Bo Peep. Excuse the pics – they were quickly taken on a cell phone while on vacation. But isn’t it divine?! A beautiful minty teal crelly base with variable sizes of matte pink, yellow-green, and purple glitter in both hexes and circles. Opaque in 2 coats, and I added a third to get an even better variety of glitter. So pretty! Who needs nail art when you have such an interesting polish? This is a definite happy favorite!

Hope everyone’s getting through the post-holiday blues!

Leave a comment