Nail Narcissism

I’m feeling very self-congratulatory right now! I did this amazing manicure that I am absolutely obsessed with. I recently got some MoYou London image plates in the mail – I had been lusting after plates from them for quite awhile, so I was very excited to get my first and start using them.

Awhile back, I had pinned a beautiful mani from Copycat Claws (Brush Stroke with Stamping). Such a great idea, using the negative space in a stamp to fill it with a colorful background. I knew I needed to try this out.

Here’s my version of stamping using the negative space to its full advantage:

3-IMG_2118

So pretty right?! There are a few stamping smears (I had “coffee hands,” you know – those shaky over-caffeinated hands), but I don’t think it detracts from the overall beauty of my digits!

So here’s how I did it:

Started out with a base color of Color Club’s Beyond – that’s the bottle you see me holding in the first picture. Such an amazing black-brown holo!

9-IMG_2105

8-IMG_2106

Then, I did a basic dotticure using 4 different polishes. All the Julep polishes are the Resort collection I received with my January Maven box.

  • Essie Butler Please – vivid cobalt blue gorgeousness
  • Julep Anita – a kind of raspberry pink-purple
  • Julep Lani – bright teal
  • Julep Malia – like a neon coral

6-IMG_2112

That’s what just the dotticure looked like! So nice on it’s own, right?

And then I stamped over the whole thing with Konad White stamping polish. I made sure to find images that had thicker areas of negative space. I used my MoYou London plate from the Suki collection 04 – this is on every finger but my thumb and ring fingers. For my thumb and ring fingers, I used my Messy Mansion plate, MM19.

And here’s the lovely end-product:

1-IMG_2121

4-IMG_2116

5-IMG_2115

The above pic features the amazing MoYou London plate. Love it! The images are a bit narrow, so they don’t cover my thumb but are perfect for the rest. I ordered some XL image plates, so that should remedy the situation.

2-IMG_2119

I’m so proud of this manicure. And thanks to Copycat Claws for the inspiration!

13 thoughts on “Nail Narcissism

Leave a comment