Narwals Are Unicorns Too!

I’ve recently decided that narwhals are the best. No contest, they’re just awesome. AND they’re the unicorns of the sea (hence the title of this post)! I came across this adorable pic of a cartoon narwhal on the Chaos & Crocodiles page, which made me love narwhals even more. Anyways, long story short I went on a search to find narwhal decals and lo and behold, a great local Pittsburgher makes them! Lacquer by Lissa has such a perfect variety of nail decals, and I can’t wait to try more (she did mention that Doctor Who decals may be coming… let me buy them all!). For now, I just purchased the narwhal ones but she was nice enough to include some freebie samples.

narwal nail decals moyou london suki waves nail stamping art lacquer by lissa essie mundo de unas

I got the decals in turquoise, so I wanted to do a pastel mani featuring the narwhal. I used Essie Fiji, a really pretty baby pink. The formula on Fiji was unfortunately crap – streaky, thin, and flooded my cuticles. I have a very comparable color (Polish My Life Pink Sandals) that has a great formula, so I think I’ll stick with that one!

narwal nail decals moyou london suki waves nail stamping art lacquer by lissa essie mundo de unas

I stamped with Mundo de Unas polish in Aqua because it matches the narwhal so perfectly! I also got the chance to use my new stamper heads from Messy Mansion! MM put out 5 different stampers recently, ranging from almost marshmellow-soft to firm. I wanted them all, but I calmed myself down and only got 3 sets (they come in a light and dark color with each set). Mine did need a bit of priming with my Magic Eraser, but after that they were perfect! I’m so glad I got them!!

narwal nail decals moyou london suki waves nail stamping art lacquer by lissa essie mundo de unas

Just look at that adorable decal! I’m so in love!

And one last pic:

narwal nail decals moyou london suki waves nail stamping art lacquer by lissa essie mundo de unas

The stamping plate I used was MoYou London Suki 01.

By the way, I’ve been playing around with how I take my pics. I have my usual background, which is the stone wall next to my polish station. But I’ve been experimenting using cream white cardstock paper with direct lighting. Which do you prefer? I’m still uncertain which I like. Let me know!

29 thoughts on “Narwals Are Unicorns Too!

  1. Andrea

    Before I saw the title and just saw the image, I thought, is that a narwhal? That is awesome! They are like unicorns except they are real! This was a cute design, very whimsical!

    Reply
  2. Simona LightYourNails

    I always tend to forget how Essie’s are hits or miss. And I hate that for their price tag!
    I love the pink and turquoise combo anyway, I thought all of the turquoise was decals, I can’t believe how perfect that stamping is! I really need some Mundo de Unhas polishes in my life!

    Reply
  3. Novita Erasma

    cute decal! and I think I own that mundo shade, need to use it soon, so pretty!
    I usually like to see plain background, but your bacground in the first pics are not distracting to me.

    Reply
  4. Lothwen

    Sooooo cute!!! ❤
    About the pics… I think I like the paper background best (although I'm not one to talk, taking my pics with random backgrounds), but the lighting seems better with the stone background. Any way you could combine the two?

    Reply
  5. Marisa

    That narwal is sooooo cute!!! The whole manicure is adorable! Also, I was creeping on some of the other comments but I agree with trying to put the paper background where you have the stone wall to see how the lighting looks (:

    Reply

Leave a Reply

