First Attempt at a Quatrefoil Mani: January NCC #1

Happy Monday sweeties!Β I’ve gotten so used to vacation, I’m not ready to go back to work! But girl’s gotta make a living right? Anyways, on to the nail art! This month’s Nail Challenge Collaborative theme is wallpaper. This was initially super intimidating to me because all I could think about was tons of intricate detail work, and I’m definitely still working on my detail work. But hey, it’s a new year and I’d love to improve my freehand skills!

So keeping that in mind, my first wallpaper pattern is a modern design and something I’ve seen in the nail art world as well – quatrefoil. I was inspired by this amazing video on YouTube by ChristabellNails. This definitely didn’t come out perfectly, but if you cross your eyes and look at it from afar, it’s super pretty! πŸ˜‰

My quatrefoil manicure

My quatrefoil manicure

I figured I should show the mani fails along with the great ones. You can’t improve if you don’t try and fail every now and again!

Another pic of this attempt

Another pic of this attempt

I really wanted to use a new polish I picked up from Target, Essie’s Coat Couture. It’s from the new Cashmere Matte collection, and it’s just gorgeous. But it’s a satin-matte, and I should have known better than to try to do nail art with that texture again! It’s always so much more difficult since it dries super quick. But the polish itself is fantastic. It’s this beautiful mauve/ dusty purple/ brownish-grey with blue shimmer – LOVE!

And I used Rica’s Whiteout as the accent. This is my go-to white for any nail art since it’s the most opaque white polish I own. I’m starting to get low on my bottle, so it’s almost time for a repurchase!

Anyways, even though this is far from my best work, I’m happy I tried the design. I think if I use a different (non-matte) polish and work on my dotting and striping skills, this could look much better!

What do you think? Do you have any nail-related resolutions? Have you tried this quatrefoil design before?

Check out more wallpaper-inspired manicures from my NCC ladies:

42 thoughts on “First Attempt at a Quatrefoil Mani: January NCC #1

    1. doctorcrafty Post author

      Thank you so much! I really love this Essie – I haven’t bought an Essie in sooo long, but this was totally worth it. Can’t wait to wear it on its own!

      Reply
    1. doctorcrafty Post author

      Awww thank you so much!! You’re sweet. I’m trying to be brave and try things that have intimidated me in the past – gotta improve my freehand game!

      Reply
  1. Pocket Money Polishes

    THIS IS SO CUTE! I love the colour you chose too. I definitely have a resolution to try more techniques, especially the ones that scare me. I also want to try and USE my polish more rather than just keep buying new things.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

