Sparkly Leopard Print Manicure

Hello sweeties! I had a dream that I returned from my vacation to find that my holy grail red holo (Darling Diva’s The Alchemist) had faded like a mofo and was now an ugly pink. I know the minute I walk through my door, I’m going to check on that – what a nightmare! Have any of you had dreams/ nightmares about nail polish? You know you’re an addict when…

Anyways! For today’s manicure, I basically just grabbed a few polishes I hadn’t worn yet and played! I hadn’t done leopard print in a real long time, so I decided that needed to happen, and I accented it with a gorgeous vivid coral and a flakie top coat.

Leopard print skittlette manicure

Leopard print skittlette manicure

Despite being one of those quickly thrown-together manis, I think it came out pretty cohesive! I usually do leopard print with the lighter shade as the base, so this was a bit different for me. Instead of using three colors (one for the base color, one for the blobby spots, and one to outline), I just used two since I couldn’t think of a good color for the blobby spots.

I really like how the shimmer of the coral Digital Nails still shows up in the leopard print! It’s such a gorgeous polish!

Leopard print + shimmer + flakes = love!

Leopard print + shimmer + flakes = love!

I bought the Digital Nails polish (Super Temp) solely for the name. It’s Doctor Who-themed (surprised much?!) and based on Donna Noble, who is definitely in my top 2 companions on the show (and the most important person in the world). So even though I bought the polish just for sassy Miss Donna, I am in LUUUUURVE with it!

Oi Spaceman! Here’s a closeup:

Closeup of Digital Nails Super Temp

Closeup of Digital Nails Super Temp- look at that golden shimmer!

I also decided to finally utilize a flakie top coat that was a huge lemming for me and was recently squashed. Zoya Chloe is perfect red-orange-yellow-green shifty flakie goodness all in a little bottle. I’ve had Opal (which is the blue-green flakie version) for awhile and have been lusting over the hard-to-find Chloe. So happy to own it now!

Here’s a closeup of Zoya Chloe:

Closeup of Zoya Chloe over OPI Malaga Wine

Closeup of Zoya Chloe over OPI Malaga Wine

Polishes used:

  • Index & middle finger:
    • Base color – OPI Malaga Wine… this is a gorgeous deepΒ brick red creme. It’s such a perfect polish – I need to wear it again! I think it’d also be a great pedicure color.
    • Leopard print – Digital Nails Super Temp detailed on with a small dotting tool
  • Ring finger: Digital Nails Super Temp… this beauty is a very bright coral orangey-pink with gold microflakies and some golden shimmer. I love love LOVE this polish!
  • Pinky:
    • Base color: OPI Malaga Wine
    • Top color: Zoya Chloe

Do you buy polishes if the name or inspiration hits you where it counts? I’m such a sucker for themed polish – I hope I’m not the only one here πŸ˜‰ I think I probably own [number not listed due to utter ridiculousness] Doctor Who polishes, and I just know that if another well-named one comes out I’m going to snatch it up too!

I hope everyone’s New Years has been safe and happy! It’s 2015 y’all!

26 thoughts on “Sparkly Leopard Print Manicure

  1. Jessica W.

    Donna is my GURL!!! I love her! Of course, she’s a redhead so I naturally love that, and I love her sassiness, her “Oy!” at the Doctor always makes me giggle. Oh, were we talking about polish? πŸ˜› This is such a fun manicure and the shimmer is totally beautiful. I do buy Doctor Who named polishes, I’m a sucker for them. LOL!

    Reply
    1. doctorcrafty Post author

      Her brother-sister relationship with Ten always killed me – I just loved that dynamic! Donna is amazing! I’m so glad I’m not the only DW polish sucker πŸ˜‰

      Reply
  2. Fixin To Faff

    I love this! It’s so pretty! Also, Donna is my gurl – she was my first companion and her brother-sister relationship with the Doctor tainted my view of any companion who wanted more from him. Plus she’s perfectly awesome, so there’s that.

    Reply
    1. doctorcrafty Post author

      Thanks!! You always love your first companion πŸ™‚ Donna is amazing – I love her dynamic with Ten so much! Although, my first companion was Rose – so I was ok with a little romantic tension (but really just with Rose and Ten!).

      Reply
  3. Monica@theRiteofAging

    !! I may have totally bought a Lord of the Rings themed collection! Each color is different but looks so similar if the polishes had not been Lord of the Rings-named I definitely may have only purchased 1 or 2! Heh…

    Fun manicure!

    Reply
  4. Color Me So Crazy

    I buy polishes that have the same names as my kids or myself. So, yes I guess I do. I also am a HUGE pretty little liars fan so I grab all those collections.
    I do love this designs with the leopard print. I makes me want to do some sort of animal print.

    Reply
  5. Marisa @ Hey, Darling Polish!

    These look amazing!! I’m totally with you on the themed polishes! Pretty much anything related to Doctor Who or Harry Potter ends up on my wish list or at home with me haha. (And I totally typed Harry Polish without even thinking at first….whoops haha.)

    Reply
    1. doctorcrafty Post author

      It is so fantastic!! I’ve been wanting it forever – it was released the same collection as Zoya Opal, and it was sold out quickly. I found mine on a storeenvy page!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

